You are not logged in. LOG IN NOW >

Campaigns & Elections Magazine Announces "CampaignTech Innovators"

BY Miranda Neubauer | Thursday, April 5 2012

Campaigns & Elections magazine has announced its 2012 CampaignTech Innovators in the areas of campaigns, advocacy, Capitol Hill and nonpartisan innovation. Candidates are nominated by their peers.

The winners "all demonstrate a visionary approach to the future of digital politics and advocacy," according to Campaigns and Elections. The recipients will officially receive the awards on April 19 at the CampaignTech Conference in Washington D.C.

In the category of campaign innovation, an award is going to Serenety Hanley, vice president of Grassroots Targeting. Hanley was previously White House internet director in the second Bush administration and Director of Political Technology at the Republican National Committee, where she developed one of the first "gamified" political websites,

In the same category, an award is going to Jason Rosenbaum, senior online campaign director at the Progressive Change Campaign Committee, who cofounded the blog The Seminal and helped draft Elizabeth Warren for the senate race in Massachusetts.

Another award in the category is going to Tom Serres, the founder and CEO of, a social fundraising platform that grew out of last year.

The fourth award in the category is going to Stuart Trevelyan, the CEO of NGP VAN.

In the category of advocacy innovators, an award is going to Charlie Harper, the editor of Peach Pundit, an influential blog in Georgia that advocates for changes in the state's political ethics laws. In the same category, Katie Harbath, Facebook's Manager for Public Policy, is receiving an award. She was previously at the National Republican Senatorial Committee, where she was one of the first to adapt a national political organization's strategy to rising use of the mobile web. A third award in the category is going to Rosalyn Lemieux, founding partner of Fission Strategy, and formerly the founding executive director and campaign director at the New Organizing Institute, where she started RootsCamp and Bootcamp.

The one award in the category of Capitol Hill innovation went to Seamus Kraft, digital director of the House Committee on Government Oversight. There he has recently helped launch the MADISON project, which allows the public to comment on provisions of legislation.

There are four award winners in the nonpartisan innovators section. The first is David Binetti, the CEO and co-founder of Votizen, a web service that focuses on voter preferences based on social connections. The second is Kahlil Byrd, the CEO of Americans Elect, which aims to have the public directly nominate a presidential candidate online. A third award is going to Tom Hallaran, CEO of IB5k, a network of producers of civically minded media and a frequent collaborator with House Republican leadership on public participation projects. A fourth award is going to Tracy Russo, the director of new media at the Department of Justice, who oversaw the redesign of the department's website and the design and development of